ICC Greenland


New leardership in ICC Greenland

By Hjalmar Dahl, ICC Greenland President

The ICC General Assembly in July 2014 in Inuvik outcome document Kittigaryuit Declaration gave the new Executive Council mandate to work further with utmost important issues the next four years. The first council meeting will take place in Nuuk, January 2015 and we will at the meeting prioritize and distribute areas of responsibilities in the declaration among ICC regions.

ICC Greenland will continue to participate in the Arctic Council and the United Nations and other relevant international foras, where it is important that the Inuit voice be heard and taken into consideration. The goal is, in brief, that the future of the Arctic also be a better Arctic for all Inuit in all levels.

Better participation of the civil-society in decision making is the key in regards to the huge scale project activities in the Arctic. We have in cooperation with the WWF Denmark developed to fulfill that effort and hope to continue the work in the future to come.

It is also important for me to directly communicate with the public in all levels through public-information-tours to our communities. I hope I will be able to do it more in the future to come.

Also in the future to come, we will renew our webside in order to make it easier for all to get information about our work.

At the ICC General Assembly in Inuvik in July 2014 ICC’s international Chair for the past four years Aqqaluk Lynge, Greenland handed over his position to Okalik Eegeesiak from Canada who will be serving ICC as Chair until the next General Assembly in 2018.

Aqqaluk Lynge and Carl Christian Olsen (Puju), have been active in the ICC since the creation of the organization, decided not to seek re-election to the ICC council.

At the recent General Assembly of ICC Greenland May 2, 2014 Martha Abelsen and Hjalmar Dahl were elected to be the new members of the ICC’s Executive Council and endorsed by the General Assembly in Inuvik. Hjalmar Dahl serves now as the President of the ICC Greenland and Martha Abelsen as Vicepresident.

Other members of the ICC Greenland board are following: Karl Kristian Kruse , Aqqaluk Lynge, Aili Liimakka Laue and Nuka Kleemann as an ex officio member.

I want to use this opportunity to thank Aqqaluk and Puju for their invalueable contribution to all Inuit during their work in the ICC.


Welcome to the ICC Greenland webside.


Hjalmar Dahl

President of ICC Greenland